Million dollar question: are Oreos vegan?

24w ago

368

So here's what happened. I was scrolling my Instagram feed and a friend shared pictures of Oreo cookies, the caption was "I can finally eat Oreos 'cause apparently they're vegan". So I did some digging and, as it turns out, Oreos are indeed vegan. Except they're not. I'm still not sure. The company claims they're vegan, because they do not contain any animal-derived ingredients, but then they also say, in the FAQs, that Oreos "have milk as cross-contact." I'm not even so sure I know what that means because I don't speak small print and while I'm still going to them, I'm also still curious: so are Oreos vegan or not?

Join In

Comments (10)

  • No, because you're obviously having them ground over ice cream.

      5 months ago
  • Pretty much yes. They are lactose free. The stuff is made from shortening. My kid is lactose intolerant & eats them no problem.

      5 months ago
    • Do you like them?

        5 months ago
    • I used to be addicted to them. Now I don’t eat gluten. Trader Joes has a GF version that thankfully my son loves! I think they taste like cardboard covered in trash. So I never eat Oreos anymore.

        5 months ago
  • Cross contact/ contamination means that the Cookies might come into contact with trace amounts with Milk during production. It does not mean that they do, but it means that it can happen.

      5 months ago
  • Who cares. They're disgusting 😂

      5 months ago
Loading...
Loading...
10